Do I have Eclectic or Poor Taste in Music?


Everyone is going to have their own opinion on this, but it just really crossed my mind when I was heading over to Big Rich’s to record an episode of GeekShow. I’ve always listened to whatever music has peaked my interest, but some of it is just terrible. 

Going back to high school is when I really started listening to music, and all different genres. Mostly I’m a rock guy. For a long time I was a heavy metal guy, but you can only head bang so long before your head starts to really hurt. However, I do still love my Metallica and Pantera.

Tumblr

Tumblr

I was really into hip hop for a while, and still love to listen to it. Not really keeping up with the new artists though. I’m talking Biggie, Dr. Dre, Eminem, Tupac, and of course Ludacris. I will always love Ludacris. Maybe it’s his delivery or absurd lyrics, but it’s really catchy and I dig it. I also have a spot in my heart for 50 Cent. In fact, Get Rich Or Die Tryin’ is currently in my car CD player, and will probably stay there forever.

If you remember the movie Office Space, I’m probably a lot like the character Michael Bolton. No. I AM Michael Bolton.

Tumblr

Tumblr

So rock, metal, hip hop. Man, I am so white.

Once I hit college I got really into jam bands. Let us also not forget about the absolutely horrid collection of pop music that sits in my music library. Guilty pleasure? Yeah, I’ve got plenty of those.

As a matter of fact, let’s go through my iTunes shuffle and see the first 10 songs that pop up.

  1. “Paper Planes” M.I.A.
  2. “Wanna Be Startin’ Something” Michael Jackson
  3. “Atwa” System of a Down
  4. “Not Over You” Gavin DeGraw
  5. “Pork and Beans” Weezer
  6. “I Want You Back” Jackson 5
  7. “Beer” Reel Big Fish
  8. “Come and Get Your Love” Redbone
  9. “Let her Cry” Hootie and the Blowfish
  10. “Duality” Slipknot

*Bonus – The eleventh song that popped up was “Go the Distance” by Michael Bolton. You know, the song from Disney’s Hercules. Love that shit.

Tumblr

Tumblr

When people ask me what kind of taste I have in music, I’ve always said I’m very eclectic. I can go from listening to Black Sabbath to Frank Sinatra. It wouldn’t be shocking if my iTunes shuffled from “5 Minutes Alone” by Pantera into “Party in the USA.”

So it really makes me ask the question – do I really have eclectic taste, or am I just terrible?

Let us also not forget about how much enjoy jamming out to Leona Lewis’ hit song “Bleeding Love.”

I’m sure I’m not alone. How can anyone just listen to one set genre and that’s it? There is so much out there, what’s wrong with loving a little pop music every now and then? How would you describe your taste in music?

Now feel free the judge.

About BJ Ragone

Just a man with a computer, smartphone and a ridiculous amount of pop culture knowledge.

Posted on September 25, 2014, in Commentary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.